Ruritans Award Scholarships


The White Hall Ruritan Club awarded $1,000 scholarships in June to four Western Albemarle High School graduates.

Kaleb Jessee, a 2012 graduate, received the Dan Maupin Scholarship, as he has for the past two years. He is attending North Carolina State University, where he is studying sport management and business administration.

Megan Flanagan was awarded the Walter Perkins Memorial Scholarship. She will be attending University of Virginia to study nursing.

Due to generous donations from the community and the excellent qualifications of applicants, two new scholarships were added this year. Meade Cogan and Katherine Norton were awarded White Hall Ruritan Educational Scholarships. Meade will attend Hampden-Sydney College to study chemistry. Kadie will attend James Madison University to study social work and Spanish. The scholarships were awarded based on their scholastic achievement and civic contributions to the Crozet/White Hall area.

The club also presented the Ann Campbell Awards for Outstanding Effort and Achievement in Academics to Lainey Williams, Maya Chatterson, and Megan Blewitt, all fifth grade students at Crozet Elementary School. These awards were accompanied by $50 gift certificates to Over the Moon Bookstore.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here